Skip to content

“But where do you get your protein?!”

October 10, 2011

Happy holiday Monday! I hope that you are all having a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend! 

 As I mentioned before, I probably will not be able to post a recipe every day, which I think is a good thing, because it will give you guys time to try the recipes instead of being bombarded daily with new recipes! Also, I only want to post quality recipes that I myself have made multiple times and have tweaked to perfection, and there is only so much time in the day to bake! But during the month of October (Vegan MOFO-Month of Food), I am participating in a challenge to do a blog post daily that is Vegan-related!  

 Recently I have recieved emails from some of you with questions (which I love!) I think that eventually I will post a FAQ’s page, but for now, I have only been asked a few questions ;) However, of the messages that I have received, I do seem to be asked the same few quite often. So I thought that until I have more questions for the FAQ’s page, I would just answer your questions every now and then in a post!

 The question that I receive in almost every message goes something like this: “I am exploring vegetarianism and veganism, but am concerned that I will not be able to get adequate protein in my diet. What are some of the things that you eat every day to get enough protein?” So I am going to share with you my thoughts on that, and a few protein suggestions as well!

 I, too, used to wonder if I was getting enough protein in my diet. I am not a doctor or anything, so this information is only based on my own experiences, but I learned that the amount of protein that a person needs in a day is actually much lower than I previously thought. I was told by a dietician that the upper level that I should be consuming in 60 grams per day. I don’t ever struggle to meet that. Here are a few of my favourite protein choices:

 1.) Edamame: there is a lot of debate about soy. But I am a believer in balance, and I have found that most things, in moderation, can be a part of a healthy diet. Plus, there are a lot of benefits to edamame. They contain tons of fiber, and also vitamins A and C, iron, and 11 grams of protein per half cup. All for only 120 calories! I eat them cooked, plain, with just some salt and pepper. Delicious!

 2.) Quinoa: a true wonder food! Quinoa is gluten free and is a complete protein. It has 14 gms of protein per 100 grams. It also contains B vitamins, zinc, magnesium, and iron, among others. It can be prepared in a variety of ways, but I haven’t yet found a recipe that is particularly blog worthy…I usually eat it plain with sauteed vegetables, like a stir fry. When I find a great recipe, I will definately post it!

 3.) Vegan Burgers: I have found the most amazing vegan burgers. They are Sol brand. They are vegan, gluten free, low calorie, low fat, and delicious! In my opinion, the Spicy Bean one is by far the best, but I also like the Original and the Almond one. The Original have 12 grams of protein each, and only 100 calories. (When I make Original, I add a GF bbq or hot sauce to give it some kick!) They aren’t huge, so you can have two patties as your protein serving at one meal. I eat them cut up on a bed of lettuce or in a lettuce ‘bun’ with salsa and pickles on them. I can’t really say that they taste just like real burgers, because I don’t actually remember what real beef tastes like. But I DO know that I was never a fan of the taste of real beef, and I LOVE the taste of these, so dare I say, “They taste much better?!” :)

That’s just a few ideas for vegan proteins. I also love chickpeas curry and vegetarian chili, but I am going to wait for future posts to talk about those!

 Question of the day: What are you favourite vegetarian/vegan protein options?

 

 

 

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

xoxo,

Jillian

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 10:12 am

    I’m glad I reeled you in so that you could find my blog! ;)

    I’m not a vegetarian, but I agree that there are many ways to get enough protein. Beans are a great source!

    Can’t wait to start reading more!!

    • October 10, 2011 1:24 pm

      Thanks so much for commenting!! I just keep wishing that I had a catchier name, haha. :) I will have to start brainstorming now in case I ever decide to change from a wordpress blog to a non wordpress!

  2. October 10, 2011 6:01 pm

    hey jill, what about tofu missy? that stuff is great with a splash of bragg’s aminos and fresh chives! :)
    i’m gonna call you soon! <3

  3. Ashlee permalink
    October 10, 2011 9:03 pm

    I agree with all of the items you mentioned as well as the tofu. I am not vegetarian but I do not eat enough meat by any means. I actually use a protein powder called vega (it’s gluten free) I currently have the sport version which I add to my morning shake (in berry and vanilla). Or there is a whole food health optimizer as well. This is what my naturopath suggested.

  4. October 11, 2011 8:26 pm

    Ah yes, always the question of getting enough protein. I had a frank conversation with my Naturopath about protein. Those with Type O blood (as I do) apparently need to be careful with the amount of soy they use as a protein replacement. Lots and lots of beans and lentils go into my diet now. I eat soy protein (tofu, tempeh, etc.) once a week tops. And quinoa is my all time favorite.

    • October 11, 2011 11:03 pm

      That’s great info! I didn’t know that about the blood type O! But I do try to follow the eat right for your blood type guidelines for the most part! Is tempeh gluten free? How do you usually prepare yours? I have heard lots of good things about it, but haven’t ever made it! I think I might try that this week!!

Trackbacks

  1. Convenience foods that meet my high standards « La Dolce Vita Vegan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

