Skip to content

Dear Santa…

December 21, 2011

Dear Santa,

All I want for Christmas is

a pony

a hippopotamus

my two front teeth

THIS:

The other day while I was getting a few gifts, I stumbled across this beauty! I am in love with this mixer :)

If you are shopping for a girl in your life who loves pink and loves to bake, I would say that this machine is a pretty safe bet! But if you are into making homemade goodies for your family and friends, healthy desserts are usually a pretty safe bet as well. I recently ran into a few of my old teachers from elementary school, and my kindergarten teacher told me that she reads my blog (yay!) and that my desserts look delicious. I told her that I would drop some off at the school for them to try. I ended up making a few classics:

Peanut Butter Cup-cakes

This time I garnished them with roughly chopped cashews, peanuts, and chocolate sprinkles. My piping bag ripped–overuse?! ;) so I had to make do with just a ziplockbag for the peanut butter frosting. But aside from the fact that they look like they were decorated by a young child, they turned out great!

 

 

I got my niece to sample one, and asked her what she thought. She decided that she needed to close her eyes between bites to make her decision!

Her critique: “they’re a messy mess!”

But other than that, she loved them!

She was right though. They were a messy mess! (I think all cupcakes will be when eaten by three year olds!) But my sister had dressed the girls up for their santa photos, and now this one was covered in chocolate crumbs and peanut butter icing! I had to act quickly, since my sister had just stepped out briefly, so I tried to brush the crumbs off of her but they just got smeared into her white sweater. So I got out the vaccuum and vaccuumed all the crumbs off of her and got her washed up asap! Then I had to vaccuum the entire kitchen because somehow, sitting at the table, she managed to propel crumbs all over the place. :)

Also, just for my former kindergarten teacher, I made some Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites. These are so delicious, and so healthy as well. It’s one of my favourite desserts to eat and to give away, because people love them, but never guess that they are good for you!

Finally, I have been experimenting with the concept of microwave mug cakes. My first endeavor was chocolate, and I have to say, it is totally yummy! Recipe to come in the next few days! And then it’s Christmas! :)

 

xoxo,

Jillian

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 10:55 pm

    Your niece is adorable! Those peanut butter cupcakes look delicious :D

  2. December 22, 2011 4:36 pm

    JILLIAN! pardon my ignorance, but am i missing the recipe for the peanut butter cupcakes??? although i’m normally not very good with these kinds of designs, i have been successful with alicia silverstone’s vegan chocolate peanut butter cups, so i can probably be safe with these, too! they look delicious. please direct me to the recipe! and i’m laughing out loud, picturing the vacuuming of your niece. did you use a dyson? ;) bahaha. so fabulous! x

    • December 23, 2011 4:01 pm

      Hi Nicole! Sorry I thought I linked it, not sure if you were able to open that or not, but if not, here is the link: http://ladolcevitavegan.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/peanut-butter-cup-cakes/. I didn’t repost the recipe in this post cause its an old one! You can definately reduce the amounts so that you only make one of two cupcakes if that is easier for you! Oh my gosh, I love Alicia’s peanut butter cups! I usually make those just one or two at a time as well! But they make for such a nice treat!! As for the vaccuuming, I know it’s not ideal, lol, but I told her to try to just ‘shake them off’ but that inspired too much silliness! ;) Kids are so fun! Hope you are enjoying your Christmas eve-eve!! :)

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    December 23, 2011 8:30 am

    Oh Jillian, you are so funny! I hope that this year Santa not only brings you that amazing pink mixer, but also the pony, two front teeth, and the hippopotamus. It’s my opinion that will all of the wonderful treats that you bake and recipes you share, you have earned a spot at the very top of the “nice” list and deserve a little extra this year! :)

    Those peanut butter cupcakes look amazing and your niece is adorable! The best part about having a 3-year-old critique your food, is they are bluntly honest. I can’t wait to try the recipe. And, for the record, the cupcakes look wonderful. If you want to see something that looks like it was decorated by a small child, I will share with you a picture of my next cupcake endeavor! ♥

    • December 23, 2011 4:04 pm

      Yes, I hope so too, its tough being known as ‘that girl with no front teeth.’ ;) Thank you for your kind words, they made my day! I totally agree about kids being the best food critics, to be honest I am usually quite nervous when I get them to try things because if they said, “Yuck!” and spit it out, I wouldn’t really know what to do, haha. I am looking forward to seeing a picture of your cupcake decorating! :)

      • Elizabeth permalink
        December 25, 2011 9:11 am

        Merry Christmas Jillian! ♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

