Skip to content

Christmas Recap and 1 Minute Micro Chocolate Cake Recipe

December 29, 2011

Christmas is my favourite holiday! I love being able to just spend the whole day with my family! It started off with a great morning, opening presents with just my mom and dad. Sadly, my younger sister had to work and my brother recently moved out of town for a new job. My older sis was doing Christmas morning with her family. So it was just me with the ‘rents! I feel like I was very spoiled! Forgive the poor photography that is to follow…I was using the iphone! My favourite gifts were:

Workout Clothes and a Running belt

Pretty Little Liars Season 1 on DVD

Angel by Thierry Mugler perfume (pictured here with my new Desert Essence conditioner-also love!)

Gillian McKeith’s Food Bible and a digital food scale

A window frost scraper with long pink glove attachment to keep my hand and arm warm!

I also got a very thoughtful gift from my mom- a pink binder full of the sheet music (piano/guitar/vocal) for all of my favourite songs! It has tons of music in it, and it meant a lot to me, because I know that she put a lot of love and thought into it!

I have been working on a recipe for Millet Porridge and I decided to make it on Christmas morning, but it was an epic failure! It tasted like warm Millet soup. A very thin soup. I’ll keep trying! ;)

Later in the day, we went to my older sister’s place for Christmas dinner. I wanted to bring something along for an early afternoon snack, so I made these: (on the far right!)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites (raw, vegan, gluten free) with a creamy almond butter dip. Everyone really liked them!

The dinner that she prepared was an amazing feast, but given my limited diet, I started with the salad, some potatoes, and a pickle. I meant to bring a veggie burger pattie, (festive, I know!!) but I forgot it at home :s Luckily I remembered to bring a monstrous helping of kabocha squash, so I roasted that up and dipped it into a homemade chipotle sauce. I shared that as well! ;) Not the most balanced meal, I will admit, but since I forgot the veggie burger, squash it was!

And then it was time for dessert! Everyone else could have the Christmas baking, but I didn’t know for sure if there would be any desserts there that I would be able to eat, so I had prepared my own little cake to bring. I offered to make enough for the entire family, but they declined, because there would already be a lot of tempting treats there for them! So I made my One Minute Microwave chocolate cake!

I wanted to put up a disclaimer about this recipe. I didn’t invent the concept of microwave cakes in mugs. It seems to be everywhere on blogs these days! And as you know, I do not feel comfortable taking credit for ideas that were not my own. (I have the Blogging with Integrity badge on the right sidebar!) This recipe is an amalgamation of a lot of those recipes. But I did make some tweaks so that this recipe is both gluten free and vegan.

I love the convenience of this recipe! And I also love that it is healthy as well as delicious! Here is how I made it:

1 Minute Micro Chocolate Cake:

1 1/2 T cocoa

3 T gluten free flour (I used Bob’s)

sweetener of choice, to taste (I use two packets of Truvia)

1/4 tsp baking powder

tiny pinch of salt

1 T canola oil

3 T non-dairy milk (I used So Delicious unsweetened Coconut Milk)

1/4 tsp GF vanilla

Optional: 1/2 Tbsp mini vegan chocolate chips (before cooking!), soy whipped topping, and/or chocolate sprinkles!

Method:

Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl and mix well. Add liquids, then mix all together. Spray a mug with non-stick spray or mist with an oil mister. Pour in batter, and microwave for 40-45 seconds. After removing from microwave, allow to sit in dish for a few minutes. Then remove by turning mug upside down….or eat right out of the mug. You can eat it as is, or add frosting to it. I like it with a little bit of peanut butter on top. But that’s just me! ;)

*note on cooking time: times vary depending on microwaves. It may take you a couple of tries to get the right consistency from your microwave. Cooking times may be up to a minute…but the goal is to have a moist cake that isn’t gummy or overly spongey. So just keep in mind that the cooking time may vary! :)

That’s it for the Christmas recap! I hope that all of you had an amazing Christmas with your families! And now that Christmas is over, the countdown is on…..T minus 10.5 hours until my birthday!  

xoxo,

Jillian

 

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    December 29, 2011 3:12 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that you had a nice Christmas with your family and wow, you made out like a bandit with so many wonderful gifts, especially the thoughtful sheet music from your mom. Those are always the best kind of gifts!

    I’m dying to know, did Santa bring you your bright pink mixer? :)

    I plan to try the micro chocolate cake because it looks like just the right serving size for me, so I won’t have to resist eating an entire cake. Plus, it looks super duper yummy! ♥

    • December 29, 2011 5:35 pm

      I know, thoughtful gifts are the best, they just have the power to make you feel so special! Unfortunately Santa did NOT get my memo in time for Christmas! So no pink kitchenaid mixer for me! :( But maybe next year I will put it back on the list…along with my two front teeth, lol, cause life is tough without those. That’s why I make so many soft desserts! ;) Totally kidding, btw. As a person who lives on their own, I find that the single serving desserts are really what works best for me as well! So I am glad that you appreciate them! I always worry that people reading are like…”But I want to bake a dozen!!”

  2. December 29, 2011 5:22 pm

    I’m really excited about this i minute personal cake! What would be the sweetener measurement if you would just use sugar?

    • December 29, 2011 5:30 pm

      Hi Angela! Thanks for commenting! 1 Truvia packet is apparently the same sweetness as 2 tsp of sugar, but it doesn’t really seem that way to me. Tastes are so subjective, and I like things sweet, so maybe my preferences are a little sweeter than the average person?! I would start with a teaspoon of sugar, taste the batter, and if the bitterness of the cocoa still overpowers the sweetness of the sugar, add another teaspoon. When the batter tastes sweet enough for you, you’re good to go!

  3. December 29, 2011 6:55 pm

    jillian, this is a fabulous, happy, bright christmas post!!! gwendolyn and i both loved it so much, especially imagining your nice vegan arm in the pink ice scraping glove!!! such a fantastic invention!!! this post truly made me feel a LOT less stressed about my stressful day! thank you for being so vegan-ly cheerful! :):):)

    • December 29, 2011 10:54 pm

      Thank you, Nicole! I agree that the ice scraping glove just may be the greatest invention ever!! I am glad that you are feeling less stressed! It’s the same for me… reading all about Gwendolyn’s adventures does that for me on a daily basis!! :)

  4. December 29, 2011 7:59 pm

    Merry Christmas, Jillian! Looks like you got a great haul :D I still have to try that cake, though I don’t have a microwave :P

    Millet is one of my favourite cereal grains! I’ve made it many times. This is my best recipe:

    http://www.charskitchen.ca/2011/02/choco-vanilla-banana-cinammon-millet.html

    xoxo

    • December 29, 2011 10:57 pm

      Merry Christmas to you too Char! You don’t have a microwave?! That’s awesome!! Good for you! Thank you SO much for sharing the Millet recipe! It’s not very often that I have a recipe project turn out as disastrous as this one did! I will definately let you know how it turns out!! :) Thanks again!

  5. tofubelly permalink
    December 30, 2011 1:38 am

    Wow, those chocolate chip bites look amazing! Thanks for posting such a delicious vegan recipe. And your water belt is adorable (:

    • December 30, 2011 8:48 am

      Thank you! They are such a great snack, and because so many non-vegans and celiacs love them, they are my favourite thing to bring to parties! As for the water belt, even though I have run half marathons, I have always been hesitant to wear a water belt because I didn’t want any extra bulk or weight while I ran. But then I saw that they make them in pink! And I was sold! :)

  6. December 30, 2011 2:16 pm

    I made the microwave cake! It totally rocks! So good- I used 4 tsp. of vegan sugar. Yum yum yum! This will definitely be my go to recipe when I’m craving something tasty!

    Thanks again for the recipe!

    • December 30, 2011 2:53 pm

      Angela that makes me so happy!! And thank you for sharing the correct amount of sugar to substitute as well…I think that a LOT of readers will benefit from knowing the amount to use if using sugar!! :)

  7. February 11, 2012 7:50 am

    Very cool post!
    You have a smooth-flowing, wildly creative style. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

