Skip to content

Decorative Fruit Arrangements

January 2, 2012

I love Edible Arrangements. In my humble opinion, it is the best gift that one can recieve. I may be a little biased since I love fruit and I love feminine, girly arrangements! It has always been my plan to have large, decorative Edible Arrangements as the centerpieces at my wedding. I think that they are delicious, beautiful and classy!

The only thing with them is that they tend to be a little bit pricey. Also, there isn’t a location in my city to purchase them, the closest one is an hour away. Whenever I see them, I think to myself, “I could probably just make my own!” But until now, I had never attempted it!

I should mention that I am not crafty. At all. One year when I was young, I went through a sewing phase, and I sewed all my family’s Christmas presents. I made my dad a shirt which ripped clean in half when he put it on. I made my little sister a pair of dance/exercise shorts and accidentally sewed the legs together (not ideal for dance). I made my baby brother a vest with little airplane buttons and he pulled one off and started to choke. The rest of the family’s presents were even worse because I ran out of time and instead of sewing, I used glue. I am really jealous when I see beautifully arranged scrapbooks, crocheted blankets, and knitted sweaters. But alas, I do not have the gift of creative craftiness. So I am not sure why I thought that I could pull this off.

I hosted a baby shower recently, and I wanted to do a ‘baby-shower’ style arrangement as an appetizer. But I figured if it was a total failure, I could always just chop the mangled fruit up into a fruit salad and serve it that way. Or…just eat it all myself over the enxt few days. I have learned to begin crafty projects with minimal expectations. That way, if they do turn out, I am pleasantly suprised. If not….well, at least no one choked this time.

For the arrangements, I used pineapple, red seedless grapes, canteloupe, honeydew, strawberries, and leaf lettuce. I wanted to use watermelon as well, but the shower was for a boy, and I thought it might be too pink. Once everything was cut, I put some lemon juice into a new spray bottle and misted it all, so that they fruit retained its vibrant colours. I didn’t use any pictures as a guide because I didn’t want to set the bar too high. Also, I didn’t want an exact replica anyways. I just wanted to do my very best and hope that it turned out. I went a little crazy when buying the fruit, so I ended up with a lot….and made three separate arrangements. Two were in vases, like bouquets. The last one was like a garden, with flowers coming out of the ‘grass.’

On the above right I have a close up of one of the vase bouquets with the second one in the background.

I wasn’t able to get a photo of the bigger arrangement, the garden, before it was partially eaten! :) But this picture just gives you the general idea; imagine it with a lot more flowers coming out of it!

The whole project was amazingly easy! The entire process, from peeling to chopping to stenciling to arranging, took me maybe an hour. And I completed all three arrangements.  I got a lot of compliments on them at the shower. Everyone kept saying how crafty I am! If only they knew…. ;)

If you live in a city that has an Edible Arrangements location, you are lucky! But if not, or even if you do, they are really easy to make yourself. If I can do it…anyone can! :)

xoxo,

Jillian

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 4:03 pm

    your version looks like they’re smiling!
    how did you successfully pass along your smiley personality to fruit?
    just like the mythical person who touched everything and it turned to gold . . . you are the person who touches everything that turns into smiles.
    so adorable!
    you should start a business! smiling fruit, incorporated! :) x

    • January 4, 2012 9:39 pm

      Your comments are always so upbeat Nicole!! Thank you! Maybe I will go into business! I love the name ‘smiling fruit, inc.’ If I use it, I will definately let you know and cut you in on the profits!! ;)

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    January 2, 2012 5:53 pm

    Wow, those look wonderful! You did an amazing job with those edible arrangements. I’ve never had them, but they look so delicious and are such a wonderful idea. Like you, I adore fruit. You just proved yourself wrong with these…you ARE crafty! ♥

    • January 4, 2012 9:37 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth! Maybe there IS a little bit of crafty in me after all! :) I could live on fruit alone, I love it so much! Especially tropical fruit. I am trying to eat more local fruit, and I do love apples, but I really like pineapple too! :s

  3. January 2, 2012 8:45 pm

    I can’t believe you made these!! I would lovelovelove to order a bouquet from Edible Arrangements, but sadly, they’re across the water for me :( I love the idea of having them at a wedding, though!

    • January 4, 2012 9:35 pm

      I know, if only they had a location in EVERY city! As I was making them I was thinking, “hey, I might just make my own centrepieces,” but I think it would be way too much work! So I will just make my own for now, and when I get married, I will order them and save myself all that work!! :)

  4. January 4, 2012 2:17 am

    That’s so cool!! I’m always looking for vegan friendly things to bring to morning teas etc.
    Thanks for a fun idea!!

    • January 4, 2012 9:33 pm

      Thank you! And thanks for commenting! I adore your blog!! :) Very excited that you took the time to check mine out! :)

      • January 5, 2012 1:35 am

        Oh wow! Thank you! I’m so pleased you like my blog! You are too kind :) I’m glad I found you too- I’m always on the lookout for good vegan food.

  5. February 11, 2012 6:18 am

    Looks tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Update!! And a not so healthy DIY Easter gift project! | La Dolce Vita Vegan
  2. Easter Update and a Not So Healthy DIY Trail Mix! | La Dolce Vita Vegan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

