Skip to content

Honoured…and the new direction of the blog!

February 10, 2012

I was recently very honoured to have been nominated for blog awards by two of my favourite blog friends! I was nominated twice for the Versatile Blogger Award, once by Elizabeth, and once by Eliza. When I started blogging, I wasn’t sure if I would really find a place where my blog would fit in; it’s kind of a mish mash of gluten free, vegan, desserts, random facts, and mostly healthy recipes. I sometimes wonder if I should tone it down a bit and focus on just one of these topics. But I do like the versatility that it offers. I thought that my blog would fit nicely into the niche of healthy living blogger, but it hasn’t really been noticed by many other HLBs. Maybe because I don’t have the word ‘run’ in the title?! ;) As a result, my readers are all incredibly diverse. Thank you, Elizabeth and Eliza, for thinking of me!

So, I think how the process goes is that I share 7 random facts about myself, and then nominate 15 other bloggers. Many of you probably read my post about the ten most embarassing facts about myself. So I will have to come up with 7 new things!

1- I am definately an old person in disguise, given my proclivity towards knitting and napping (in my defense, I have only needed naps since I got sick, but still!) and my passions for pudding, old foreign films, and 60′s music. Best foreign film of all time: The Bicycle Thief. Best 60′s band of all time?? Hard to pick just one…I love the Beatles, the Beach Boys, Bobby Darin, the list goes on and on!

2-I am a squash addict. So much so that sometimes I seem to be turning a little bit orange (woohoo for natural tans!)–kidding! But my love for it is further described here. However, I know it’s not healthy to eat the same thing all the time, so I do limit my intake of it. It’s all about variety!

3-Celebrity crushes:

Dr. Mike Dow. Yep. Freaky Eaters is the greatest show of all time. I am assuming that one day my family will nominate me because of the squash thing (kidding, I’m totally not that bad!) But I love this guy!

Harry Shum Jr-aka Mike Chang. Adorable fact: apparently he found a stray dog on the set of Glee, and decided to adopt him and name him Charlie after the character from All Dogs Goes to Heaven. Sigh!

4-Couldn’t decide what to study in university, so the result: 8 years of post-secondary education and a multi-discliplined degree made up of Criminology, English, Spanish and Russian. I’m just well-rounded like that! ;)

5-Recently welcomed my third niece into the world, and am now the aunt to three perfect little girls whom I absolutely adore!

6-Even though I love animals (enough to make the transition to veganism), I am terrified of a lot of them; in particular moths, mice, spiders, ladybugs, snakes and worms, bees, big dogs, big cats, and siamese fighting fish. To name a few!

7-I feel like I am getting old. But the other day I wore my hair in two french braids and someone guessed my age as being 17. Pretty much made my life!

So that’s it for the random facts! As for the nominations, I actually can’t come up with 15 blogs that I love. So I am just going to list my top ten or so. In no particular order, here are my nominations…

Quick Disclaimer: Please note that just because I link to a particular blog or site, it does not mean I endorse, promote, or agree with all of the opinions, information, themes, and ideas that they contain. I read a variety of blogs, some for the recipes, some for the fashion, some because they are funny, and some simply because I am friends with the blogger and like to stay updated on their life! This list is just to share with you the ones that I enjoy, for one reason or another.  

Naturally Healthy and Gorgeous- written by a graduate student who is studying natural products and how they can prevent and treat disease. I love learning all about the toxins in certain products and the immense benefits of others.

Elizadolly- Eliza is one of the funniest people I know! Her blog makes me laugh, out loud. She also has excellent taste in blog formats! ;)

Macheesmo- This guy is a culinary genius! His recipes aren’t necessarily vegan or gluten free, but simple substitutions can be made quite easily. Genius, pure genius!

Char@ Char’s Kitchen- This girl makes the most delicious vegan food; a great balance between savoury and sweet recipes. She is also just a really great girl, and such a beautiful person! Her photography is top notch, and the fact that she’s Canadian?! Yay!

Carly Love- Carly doesn’t blog too much anymore, as she’s taking a break from it, but I still love it! She’s such a sweet girl and we’re practically neighbors, which is cool!

Heather Eats Almond Butter- I have been reading this blog forever. In fact, its probably the first blog I ever read. She has great recipes, and balances wholesome nutrition with sensible exercise! Win!

Nicole and Gwendolyn-Nicole may be the most fashionable girl I know! I love reading all about the adventures of her and her dog, Gwendolyn. Bonus: she posts adorable videos of Gwendolyn. So cute! Happy Birthday, Nicole! <3

Alex @ Spoonful of Sugarfree- lots of great recipes here! Its always a good reminder that too much sugar is really not healthy, and that sugarfree food can be totally delicious!

Elizabeth @ The Spiral Upward- Elizabeth found my blog first and I am so glad that she did! One of the kindest souls I know; I feel so lucky to know her.

Coeliac Diagnosis-Gluten Free OMG!- follows the author’s journey through the first 365 days after being diagnosed as Celiac. Now that the year is up, I still like to read, because it’s well written, informative, and a good reminder of the dangers of continuing to consume gluten if you are diagnosed as being Celiac.

So there they are! Thank you again to Elizabeth and Eliza for the nominations!

So I wanted to give you all a heads up that the blog may be taking a bit of a new direction. I have had some requests for really healthy, low fat, low carb, gluten free and vegan recipes. I am going to try to post mostly these for the next little while, as the last few recipes I have posted haven’t necessarily been ideal for someone on a reduced calorie diet! Also, I am trying to continue to move away from processed foods in favour of a whole-foods, plant-based diet, and that may be reflected in the recipes as well!

xoxo,

Jillian

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 11:55 am

    Oh wow, we have a lot in common. I love naps and squash and 60′s music. The HEABlet loves dancing to the 60′s music channel on TV. She starts clapping and bopping her head as soon as she hears it.

    Thanks so much for your kind words regarding my blog and for sticking with me for so long Jill. It’s kind of been a crazy 3 years, no?

    P.S. I should try the braid thing. Feeling old these days.
    P.P.S. I kind of like it when blogs mix it up. Kind of nice to get recipes, personal stories, etc. Makes me feel like I know the author on a more personal level…and “run” in your title is so not necessary. ;)

    • February 10, 2012 12:14 pm

      Someone shares my passion for old people things!! YAY!

      Thanks so much for commenting, Heather! It has been a crazy few years, but your blog has maintained its quality throughout, which I think is what draws people to it!! And definately do try the braids thing, put a few bows at the ends to take off another five years or so! :)

  2. February 10, 2012 8:04 pm

    Awww I feel so honoured!! You’re such a doll :) That whole bit you wrote about me made me smile! :D

    I’m tooootally with you on squash! I made butternut squash risotto for dinner tonight because it’s all I’ve been thinking about for weeks! haha.
    Congrats on your newest niece! I’m with ya on feeling old…I’m almost 25. But whenever I go to the high schools, I get mistaken for a grade 12 student. Sooo I kinda like it there :)
    Also, I’m not too terrified of many animals, but I do have a RIDICULOUS phobia of spiders, any bugs or worms, and sharks. When I was little, I couldn’t go into the deep end of pools because I was terrified something would grab me :\ lol

    • February 11, 2012 7:52 am

      Yessssss, a fellow squash addict! That risotto sounds delicious! Almost 25?! Ahh, so young!! I just turned 28 which means I am closer to my thirties than my twenties! :( But that is absolutely fabulous that you get mistaken for grade 12 students! I would love that!! And oh yeah, sharks are a huge phobia of mine too, and of things grabbing me in pools or lakes. Lol.

  3. February 11, 2012 6:06 am

    Very cool direction!
    And congrats!

  4. February 11, 2012 7:13 am

    thank you thank you thank you, love, for this nomination!!! it is such an honour!
    so ironic that you just posted because last night whilst enjoying a martini at the cheesecake factory, i gave your blog address to a girl who suffers from celiacs! i think your blog is the creme de la creme when it comes to attitude, diet, and life with celiacs disease, and i so hope that she’ll visit you.
    thank you for the sweet birthday wish. xxx

    • February 11, 2012 7:44 am

      Thank YOU Nicole for recommending MY blog to other people!! My blog is such a small one, and since not a popular one, I worry about all the newly diagnosed celiacs who think they are doomed! :) You’re the best! xx

  5. February 12, 2012 12:11 am

    I am indeed honoured. Thank you so much for this. I can’t wait to check out the other blogs that you have listed.

  6. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    February 12, 2012 11:03 am

    Thanks so much for the award!! How sweet of you :D

  7. February 14, 2012 9:04 am

    Definitely wasn’t expecting to see my name here! I am doing some work to my blog…it will make a return soon :)

    We have a ton in common. I am totally a grandma; I love knitting and wheel of fortune. Preferably at the same time. I feel like with the abundance of seniors in Chilliwack, it’s just bound to happen! xo

  8. Elizabeth permalink
    February 22, 2012 4:31 pm

    Thank you for your kind words. You are so incredibly sweet! I really enjoyed reading about your fun facts and I am excited for the new direction of your blog. I hope that you are doing well. Lots of love to you xoxoxo ♥

  9. March 2, 2012 10:38 pm

    You are so awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

