Skip to content

I’m Baaaaack….kind of…with a Vanilla Ice Milk dessert recipe!

April 16, 2012

Hey guys!!

I know I have been away from the blog for a loooong time! Things have been crazy busy for me! I am still undergoing medical treatments which take up a lot of my time every week. And even though I have a ton of down time while I am at the hospital, I worry that I don’t really have anything noteworthy to blog about, so I tend to just not blog while I am there!

I am so appreciative of the fact that you guys still send me messages and comments, and want you to know that I read all of your guys’ blogs daily! (like I said, I have a lot of down time!)

I wanted to post a dessert recipe today, but it is kind of a revised dessert recipe. It makes a great, healthy recipe if you are having guests because it is easy, delicious, and presents itself well. I have found that all of my friends love the Best Brownies Ever, so I have been making those, topped with a Vanilla Ice Milk. If I am looking for a more diet-friendly option, I make my Three Bite Chocolate Brownies, which are really good as well, but quite a bit healthier, also topped with the ice milk, sundae style ;) I don’t think that I made this Vanilla Ice Milk recipe up…I think I must have just adapted a bunch of other similar recipes that I found.

Vanilla Ice Milk: (totally customizable in terms of flavour!)

(50 calories, 5 grams fat, gluten free, and vegan!)

1 cup non-dairy milk (I prefer So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk for this recipe, because the creaminess lends itself well to the ice milk texture, making it seem rich, like regular ice cream would be!)

Teeny tiny pinch of salt (like reaaaallly tiny)-but don’t omit!

1/3 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Sweetener of choice (I use 1-2 packets of Truvia, but you could use any sugar substitute, or even regular sugar. But sweeten to your own tastes-you can try to milk mixture before it is frozen to determine if it is sweet enough!)

Method:

-Mix the ingredients well in a small bowl

-Pour into ice cube tray and freeze

-After frozen, pop ice milk cubes out. Drop into Vita Mix or other high powered blender. If you are not using the Vita Mix, I think you may need to thaw the cubes for a few minutes before blending. Blend them up until you have a thick ice milk.

-Once this is done, you will have a thick, creamy ice milk. I sometimes pour the ice milk back into a deep container and put it back into the freezer for a little bit, then use an ice cream scoop to serve it, because it looks prettier. But truth be told, if I am not serving it to someone else, I don’t usually bother with the presentation/style steps!

You can top this any way you like; I like it with the brownies, and even though I put some chocolate sauce on it for the photo, I usually just eat the two together without anything else. But you could add sauces, Soyatoo, melted peanut butter, anything really!

I am hoping that I will be able to post more frequently, but if that’s not the case, I will be back with recipes as often as I can! I have a cupcake recipe all ready to share with you guys, so I will probably be posting that soon!!

xoxo,

Jillian

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 4:01 pm

    Jillian, I was thinking about you JUST today whilst cutting my raw salmon at lunchtime! Haha! You do not remind me of salmon, but I just thought of my long lost friend and hoped to hear from you soon. This blog post is so ironic. Wow! Thank you for checking in with your girlfriends. I believe that I speak on the behalf of everyone exclaiming that we’ve missed you! Mwah! x x x

  2. April 16, 2012 5:01 pm

    I’m not vegan, but I want to eat all of that!

  3. April 20, 2012 6:30 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been going through some medical issues Jillian, but I was browsing an old blog post of mine and saw your comment which was so sweet, and wanted to stop by your blog and see how you’ve been! I hope it’s nothing too serious? I browsed some old posts of yours but couldn’t see what’s going on so maybe it’s personal, but my thoughts and prayers are with you. In the meantime, this vanilla ice looks fabulous and I love how easy it sounds! I also love that it can be made with stevia. Thanks girl!

    • May 28, 2012 12:21 am

      Thank you Anna! Its fairly serious but I have a great medical team, and am getting better slowly yet surely! Thank you for your kidn message! Your blog is one of my favourites by far!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

