Skip to content

Vegan Chocolate Covered Strawberries-Effortlessly Epic!

July 12, 2012

Hey all!

It’s been another long time! Sorry I’ve been MIA! Life is crazy busy! And it’s so hot here in B.C, I haven’t been doing any baking! I keep meaning to post a GF Vegan meal recipe, but every time I take the time to make something that looks halfway decent to photograph, I forget to actually take a picture. My meals tend to be messes. But that’s ok, it’s all about the flavour!

I do have a delicious recipe to share with you guys! Actually, technically its so easy that it really shouldn’t even be called a recipe. But it makes for an amazing appetizer or dessert, and can be customized in a million and one ways, so I wanted to share it! You’re gonna have to excuse the quality of the photos…but I was workin’ with the iphone! :)

White and Dark Chocolate Covered Strawberries:

1/2 cup semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips

1/2 cup vegan white chocolate chips

12 medium sized strawberries

Additional Options: Coconut (highly recommended!) or chopped nuts

Method:

-Wash strawberries

-Melt white and dark chocolates separately using double-boiler. Because I can’t be bothered to buy fancy kitchen appliances (or am still feeling guilty about spending having spent so much on a Vita-Mix, lol) I do it the old fashioned way:

-Bring a pot of water to boil. Melt the chocolate chips separately in a metal bowl over the pot. And….done. (If you are finding your chocolate to be too thick when melted, I would suggest adding small amounts of SoDelicious Unsweetened Coconut milk until you’ve reached your desired consistency)

**I think that you could probably melt the chocolate in the microwave. But I always seem to overcook them…like they get all crispy and smell like burning. Maybe I am the only one who this happens to. So, if you are smart enough to work a microwave, micro away, my friends!! ;)

-Line a baking sheet, or your counter, with parchment paper

-Dip strawberries in chocolate

-If using an optional addition, roll the just coated strawberries in coconut, nuts, or other favourite topping before it hardens

-Place strawberry on parchment paper and allow to harden

DONE!

I personally like to refridgerate these for a few hours, then take them out an hour or so before serving to allow them soften up a bit. But they are so easy, and such a delicious summer snack. And considering the fact that they have only two-three ingredients, and take only a few minutes to throw together, they look pretty fancy.

That’s all I’ve got today! Hope it’s hot where you are and that you are having an awesome week!!

xoxo,

Jill

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 6:45 pm

    Looks yummy! Thanks for sharing! Hope all is well with you!

    • July 14, 2012 8:50 pm

      Thanks!! I loved your holiday post, I wish that I could have been there with you guys!! It sounds like it was such a great time! And I am loving all of the photography now that you’ve got the new camera!! Gorgeous!

  2. Ashlee permalink
    July 13, 2012 8:14 am

    Yeah more blog posts!!!!!!! One quick question though….. Where do you buy your white chocolate from? I can’t find it anywhere!!!!!!

    Thanks!

    • July 14, 2012 8:49 pm

      Hey Ash!! There are a few brands that are available but some of them aren’t very good…I have had the Lieber’s brand and did not enjoy them, and have also tried VeganSweets, which, although they tasted good, cannot be totally guaranteed free from cross contamination. Its kinda trial and error, and really personal preference in terms of taste. I really like the Sweet William brand, but they are a bit expensive! You can order them online from lots of places, which is what I usually do, but there is actually a store in New West that sells them too!! Here is the website info: https://www.karmavore.ca/contact.php, which gives you directions to their store. Here is the info for the actual product: http://www.karmavore.ca/shop_item.php?id=1277. They are certified vegan and GF! Win!! But they are sold out right now, I would recommend calling them before heading in to see if they have them in stock!

  3. July 21, 2012 1:12 pm

    Jillian!!! My mind is so curious to learn of what ngredients actually compose “white vegan chocolate”! Sounds like it might be artificial, in a way… albeit delicioso!!!

    Your strawberry designs looks gorgeous – just like the gourmet strawberries sold at upscale shops in the shopping mall! Did you create the design yourself? If not, what was your inspiration?… which leads me to another question: what are your favourite food blogs?

    How do you feel about “cross contamination” when using the microwave? I tossed my microwave about two years ago, shortly after ending my bulimia. I felt toxic knowing that cheeses and unnatural items had been baked within! I suppose that I “do not believe” in microwaves (as crazy as that may sound!). They just seem so dirty to me! I’ll furthermore also never allow meat or dairy products to touch my grill. It shall forever stay as pure. :)

    xoxo

    • July 25, 2012 9:24 am

      Hi Nicole!!
      I love this comment!! Definately gave me some things to consider!

      The ingredients for the brand I use are as follows: Cane Sugar, Palm Kernal Oil, Soy Flour, Emulsifiers, (Soya Lecitin,476), Natural Vanilla Flavor. I try to be careful about what I put in my body in terms of non natural ingredients, and don’t have a problem with any of these, other than emulsifiers. I am interested to hear your perspective on these ingredients?! I am sure you have more knowledge about them than I do!! Regardless, I don’t have them too often so I try not to worry too much!! The design for the chocolate with the nuts was my own simple creation, while the other fanicer ones were inspired by a friends ideas.

      I don’t read as many food blogs anymore, but I read Pure2Raw (now purelytwins.com) religiously and Heather Eats Almond Butter. Of course I adore your artful food creations!!

      I havent ever considered food contamination via microwave…and I do actually cook some things in there regularly…like air popped popcorn. I guess since my two microwaves have always been used for only my food, I consider them safe in terms of contamination. I like the idea of never allowing meat or dairy to touch your grill….my home is totally meat free/dairy free/gluten free, and that’s just the way that I like it!! No concerns about contamination!!

      I hope you’re doing well!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

