Skip to content

Peppermint Hot Chocolate with Whipped Topping and Crushed Candy Cane Garnish

December 9, 2012

Hey guys!

Wow, it’s been a reaaaallly long time! I had actually planned on not continuing with the blog; recently I have been super busy, not really doing a lot of cooking, and just focusing on myself and my health, so I haven’t had the time to dedicate to blogging that I would like. But, honestly, I have really missed it! And I have had so many requests recently to a-unlock the older blog posts and b-do more posts, particularly with dessert recipes. So here I am, back on the blog after months of absenteeism. Thanks everyone so much for your continued support and interest! :)

Today I have a holiday inspired recipe that I have been wanting to recreate for awhile now…Peppermint Hot Chocolate! It’s totally delicious, warm, and comforting. Also, it’s sweet and chocolately, like a dessert, but much healthier!

I wish that I’d had more time to work with the photos on this one, because it was really a nice looking bevvie! But the soyatoo was melting Peppy Hot Chocky! 572quickly, and I had to snap a few shots before that happened. So forgive the poor photos, but it’s really the quality of the recipe that counts, right?? Right! :) This recipe was adapted from an ‘All Recipes’ recipe. I really love it, but if you want to use just a vegan hot chocolate mix, and add the sugarfree peppermint syrup and Soyatoo and crushed candy cane bits, you’ll get a similar result. But if you have the time, I would highly recommend making it from scratch.

Peppermint Hot Chocolate with Whipped Topping and Crushed Candy Cane Garnish: (makes two!)

2 1/2 cups soy milk (or your favourite non-dairy milk). I would recommend NOT going for a fat free milk here. The creaminess of a regular fat soy milk is really an important part of what makes this recipe so delicious!

3 Tbsp. Cocoa Powder (I use Hershey’s Unsweetened, because that’s what I use for baking and have in the house, but I’ll bet that a really rich Dutch cocoa powder would be incredible in this!)

3-4 Tbsp. Sugarfree Peppermint Syrup (you can add more or less, depending on preferred level of sweetness- I use 4).

1-2 Tbsp. White Sugar or Sweetener of Choice (I usually use 3 packets of Truvia, but as I’ve said, I like things sweet. Start low and add more, depending on your preferences!)

1/2 tsp. salt

1 Candy Cane

Optional: Cinnamon, Soyatoo whipped topping

Peppy Hot Chocky! 577Method:

Unwrap one candy cane (most are vegan and GF, just double check to be sure!) Put it in a ziplock bag and smash into bits. One candy cane will easily top 8 drinks, so either load up the two drinks that you have, or store it in the ziplock bag until next time!

Bring the soy milk, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, peppermint syrup and cinnamon, if using it, to a simmer in a pot over medium-high heat on the stovetop. Remove from the heat and whisk until frothy. Pour into 2 mugs, and top with soyatoo and crushed candy cane pieces. Serve immediately.

A thought on Soyatoo: I used to really love this stuff. Now, not so much. The same has happened with Daiya shreds. I am just not a fan anymore. So if you do like it, go for it, and enjoy! If not, this hot chocolate is good on it’s own, it’s just that the whip makes a great vehicle for those candy cane bits!! :)

I’m going to be doing a few more posts in the next few weeks. I have the most amazing tofu recipe to share….I know that a lot of you are hesitant about preparing tofu, but I promise that this recipe will change your mind! That’s all from me for now! I hope that you are all well….leave a comment to let me know what you are up to! :)

xoxo,

Jillian

P.S- A shoutout/huge congratulations to one of my besties, who just celebrated her birthday AND got engaged! <3 Yippee!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2012 1:15 am

    Welcome back and OMGosh that looks and sounds beautiful.

    • December 14, 2012 12:45 am

      Thank you for still reading!! :) I am hoping to be a bit more regular with my posts!!

  2. Ashlee permalink
    December 12, 2012 10:27 pm

    Thanks for the shout out!!!!!

    We must get together soon!

  3. December 23, 2012 4:36 pm

    Peppermint lattes are SO my favourite. Your featured beverage, I am certain, will be something to love also! Happy Christmas to you, Jillian! x x x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

